All Posts on Emily Lupita Studio, Art Under Glass Jewelry Project

Art Under Glass

This Week @ Emily Lupita Studio

It has been an exciting week here in the studio with the launch of my new Art Under Glass jewelry line. The collection is off to a great start with 30 colorful pieces of art encased under glass and set in pendants of different shapes & sizes.

Art Under Glass Main Photo

My sister-in-law and niece were amazing and helped me to get started on this big project when they came to visit several months ago. I’ve been working on finishing this first batch of the collection since then and each finished piece is so special to me. I feel like I’m just getting started with this new miniature art form.

DSC_0020DSC_0024

How It’s Made:

The process for making these little wonders begins with creating a digital image of my original watercolor painting that fits the size of the pendant. Then I print the image, cut it to the proper shape, wax it and bind the glass to the top with a transparent fixing agent, making sure the glass doesn’t slide around by holding it in place until it sets. After this dries for a day, I wax the back of the image, coat it with fixing agent and set it in the metal pendant base coated with a thin layer of metal glue. After the finished pendant dries for 2 days…Voilà!the art jewelry is ready to wear.

DSC_0041DSC_0062

Coming Soon:

I was so happy to be asked to make a custom pair of earrings using this same Art Under Glass technique to match a friend’s favorite painting in my Artist’s Alphabet book. Such a wonderful idea! After several tries I found the best design to fit the space and just loved seeing the book pages transform into earrings. It was a fun project and I was inspired to keep on making a series of alphabet earrings…coming soon.

IMG_3190DSC_0021

Sending wishes for a beautiful day,

-Emily Lupita

cropped-studio-logo-2-flowers-1-butterfly1.jpg

Lots of New Designs in Emily Lupita’s Etsy Shop:   

DSC_0004

DSC_0055

DSC_0063

DSC_0106DSC_0075DSC_0056

www.etsy.com/shop/emilylupitastudio

All the Arts We Practice

Website  & Blog

http://www.EmilyLupitaStudio.com

All content ©Emily Lupita Studio 2014

3 thoughts on “Art Under Glass”

Comments Welcome

