All Posts on Emily Lupita Studio, Classic Lupita Japanese Irodori Watercolors, This Week at Emily Lupita Studio, View From My Art Desk

Evolution of an Owl

The View From My Art Desk

I’m working on a new series of owl paintings. I wanted to share the evolution of how I develop a painting. First I sketch out the basic ink drawing several times to get the design I’m envisioning in my mind. I use sketch paper and go through piles & piles!

Sweet Owl 1Then I add in special aspects like crowns, bubbles, stripes and flowers to give the design the light-hearted character I try to have in all my Lupita paintings.

Sweet Owl 2

Once the design is all set, I draw it on watercolor paper and start the color selection.

Owl 1

I love to combine unexpected colors and I try to always use a touch of bright pink.

3 OWLS 5_Ink DrawingAnd here she is – my first owl painting. I’m calling it “Sweet Owl” and hope to make a few more Lupita Owls over the next couple of days. 3 Sweet Owl_ETSY 1

 

This painting is now up in my online Art Shop ~ here  and I hope to take it in to the MSAA Gallery later on this week.

Sending wishes for a beautiful day,

~Emily Lupita

minicard_template_us

Check out my newly redesigned website:

www.EmilyLupitaStudio.com

 

 

 

All content ©Emily Lupita Studio 2014

4 thoughts on “Evolution of an Owl”

Comments Welcome

